NT Campaign

The NT Campaign was launched in March 2021 with Eileen Culleton’s submission to the NT Mandatory Sentencing Consultation Paper in which she called for mandatory sentencing for life without parole for murder with sexual assault.

The submission was rejected by the NT Law Reform Committee due to the lateness of the submission. This was disappointing considering Eileen Culleton’s submission appeared to be the only submission from a murdered rape victim family member and therefore would have provided invaluable insights to inform the NT Law Reform Committee.

Elleen also sent a copy of the submission to the Attorney General Selena Uibo with the request that she consider it despite the lateness of submission.

Here is a copy of the 28 page submission

Ms Uibo responded by email in April 2021 to advise that she provided the submission to the Department of Attorney-General and asked that it be considered in any future consideration of mandatory sentencing by the Northern Territory Government.

To date no decisions have been made regarding murder sentencing laws. Eileen plans to request a meeting with Ms Uibo to discuss the proposed law reform in early 2022.

How to help the law reform campaign

Your voice has power in telling the politicians that the Northern Territory’s current sentencing is not in line with community expectations for crimes of murder with sexual assault and that you want this law reform to keep rapist murderers behind bars for life. Please consider the following actions:

Sign the Petition

By signing and sharing the petition Life For Rapist Murderers you will help send a collective message to the politicians that this is an issue that is important to the community.

Email politicians

You may also want to email them. See below for their contact details:

NT Attorney General Selena Uibo

Address: Shop 1, 27 Katherine Terrace, Katherine NT 0850
PO Box 129 Katherine, NT 0851
Phone: Electorate office: 8973 8780 Parliament House: 8936 5529
Emails: Electorate.Arnhem@nt.gov.au

NT Politicians

Legislative Assembly Members